jump to navigation

Year of the NEET April 6, 2010

Posted by physicsdm in Essay, Life.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Ladies, gentlemen, boys, and girls, consider this a public service announcement: don’t let yourself become a NEET.

It may seem like a life of doing nothing but sleeping in, mooching off others, playing video games, and surfing the internet is somehow glorious (and for the short term, it actually kind of is), but in reality it’s a horrible experience…or maybe that’s just for people with self respect and dignity let’s not go there.

Let me describe my daily routine for about the past 10 months (ladies grab a hold of your panties, you may feel the need to throw them at me after hearing about this sexy lifestyle): wake up bewteen 2:30-4 p.m., check email/facebook/other random sites/etc, grab some kind of instant food for lunch, play 4 hours of video games, quit the video games to get back on the internet for a sec to check IRC, go get some dinner and eat it while watching TV, continue TV/video games for another 4-5 hours, get on to IRC and chat till 5-7 a.m., watch some anime, then force myself to sleep. rinse repeat.

Sexy, huh? I forgot to mention I was living in the den of my sister’s house, sleeping on a couch, and using my mom’s credit card for groceries.  Since my friends have all moved elsewhere with their new wives/husbands/kids, I didn’t get much human contact either.  The only thing that’s changed recently is that I live in my mom’s house now.

I’ll have to be honest.  In the short term day-to-day viewpoint, this kind of lifestyle is amazing.  Now let me be honest again: for all this time I have never experienced more self-loathing and depression with the way my life was going.

The nasty truth: being a NEET is an incredibly empty lifestyle.  Wasting your time everyday, having others do everything for you, it really begins to wear you down.  I’ve never felt more worthless as a human being.  And trust me, it’s even worse if you have friends that are leading normal lives, and being successful at it too.

But there’s good news: finally getting that letter from a grad school saying they want to accept you is all that much sweeter after 10 months of being a worthless pile of wasted human potential.  Please realize the bittersweet nature of my previous statement.

I hope that this will help you make better life decisions.  Spending a summer break like this isn’t a bad thing at all, but don’t let it go on any longer than that.  Stay in school, apply for college after high school, go to grad school after college, get a job if you’re done with learning, travel the world for all I care.  Just do something with your life, whatever it may be.  You’ll be happier in the end, take my word for it.

This message has been brought to you by a (hopefully) ex-NEET.

P.S. Further proof of the consequences of being a NEET:

no one wants to see this happen

Note: watch Eden of the East if you don’t understand the image.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

